About SCEC Research Resources Learn & Prepare

Organization of the Center

The Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC) is an institutionally based organization governed by a Board of Directors. It recognizes both core institutions, which make a major, sustained commitment to SCEC objectives, and a larger number of participating institutions, which are self-nominated through the involvement of individual scientists or groups in SCEC activities and confirmed by the Board. Membership continues to evolve because SCEC is an open consortium, available to individuals and institutions seeking to collaborate on earthquake science in Southern California. Each core institution appoints one member to the Board. The Board elects two nominees from the participating institutions to serve two-year terms on the Board as members-at-large.

The Board of Directors is the primary decision-making body of SCEC; it meets three times per year to approve the annual science plan, management plan, and budget, and deal with major business items. The Center Director acts as Chair of the Board. The liaison members from the U.S. Geological Survey are non-voting members.

Core Institutions and Board of Directors

University of Southern California, Lead
Tom Jordan, Chair
University of California, San Diego
Yuri Fialko
California Institute of Technology
Nadia Lapusta, Vice-Chair
University of California, Santa Barbara
Ralph Archuleta
California Geological Survey
Chris Wills
University of California, Santa Cruz
Emily Brodsky
Columbia University
Bruce Shaw
University of Nevada, Reno
Glenn Biasi
Harvard University
Jim Rice
U.S. Geological Survey, Golden
Jill McCarthy (liaison, non-voting member)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tom Herring
U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park
Ruth Harris (liaison, non-voting member)
San Diego State University
Steve Day
U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park
Steve Hickman (liaison, non-voting member)
Stanford University
Paul Segall
U.S. Geological Survey, Pasadena
Rob Graves (liaison, non-voting member)
University of California, Los Angeles
Peter Bird
At-Large Member
Roland Bürgmann
University of California, Riverside
David Oglesby
At-Large Member
Michele Cooke

Standing Disciplinary Committees coordinate the principal data-gathering activities and the disciplinary infrastructure, as well as communal field equipment, experiments, and computational resources. Interdisciplinary research is organized by Focus Groups that are responsible for the development, verification, release, maintenance, and improvement of the SCEC Community Models.

The leaders of the Disciplinary Committees and Interdisciplinary Focus Groups serve on the Planning Committee (PC) for three-year terms. The PC develops the annual Science Collaboration Plan, coordinates activities relevant to SCEC science priorities, and is responsible for generating annual reports for the Center. Leaders of SCEC Special Projects (i.e. projects with funding outside the core science program) also serve on the Planning Committee. They ensure the activities of the special projects are built into the annual science plans.

Science Working Groups and Planning Committee

Planning Committee Chair
Greg Beroza **
Planning Committee Vice-Chair
Judi Chester **

Disciplinary Committees

Egill Hauksson **
Elizabeth Cochran
Earthquake Geology
Mike Oskin **
Whitney Behr
Tectonic Geodesy
Jessica Murray **
Dave Sandwell
Computational Science
Yifeng Cui **
Eric Dunham

Interdisciplinary Focus Groups

Unified Structural Representation
John Shaw **
Brad Aagaard
Fault and Rupture Mechanics
Greg Hirth **
Jean-Paul (Pablo) Ampuero
So. San Andreas Fault Evaluation
Kate Scharer **
Ramon Arrowsmith
Stress and Deformation Over Time
Kaj Johnson **
Thorsten Becker
EQ Forecasting and Predictability
Jeanne Hardebeck **
Ilya Zaliapin
Ground Motion Prediction
Kim Olsen **
Christine Goulet
EQ Eng. Implementation Interface
Jack Baker **
Jacobo Bielak

Special Projects

Community Modeling Environment
Phil Maechling **
Working Group on California Earthquake Probabilities
Ned Field **
Collaboratory for the Study of EQ Predictability
Max Werner **
Danijel Schorlemmer

The Center Director is the Chief Executive Officer and bears ultimate responsibility for the Center’s programs and budget. The Director acts as PI on all proposals submitted by the Center, retaining final authority to make and implement decisions on Center grants and contracts, and ensuring that funds are properly allocated for various Center activities The Deputy Director chairs the Planning Committee and oversees the development of the annual Science Collaboration Plan. The Associate Director for Administration assists the Center Director in overseeing daily operations, including managing the budget as approved by the Board, filing reports as required by the Board and funding agencies, and keeping the Board, funding agencies, and Center participants current on all Center activities. The Communication, Education, and Outreach (CEO) Program fosters new research opportunities and ensures the delivery of research and educational products to the world at large as useful knowledge for reducing earthquake risk and improving community resilience. The overall framework for data-integration and modeling effort, including the software standards for data structures and model interfaces, is responsibility of the Associate Director for Information Technology.

Management Team

Center Director
Tom Jordan

Greg Beroza

Center Administration

Comm, Education, and Outreach

Information Technology

Associate Director
John McRaney
Associate Director
Mark Benthien
Associate Director
Phil Maechling
Special Projects and Events
Tran Huynh
Education Programs
Bob de Groot
Research Programmer
Scott Callaghan
Contracts and Grants
Karen Young
Digital Products
John Marquis
Research Programmer
David Gill
Admin Coordinator
Deborah Gormley
Communications Specialist
Jason Ballmann
Research Programmer
Masha Liukis

Research Programmer
Kevin Milner

Research Programmer
Fabio Silva

Systems Programmer
John Yu

An elected external Advisory Council (AC) serves as an experienced advisory body to the Center. The Council reports to the Center through its Chair. The AC comprises a diverse membership representing all aspects of Center activities, including basic and applied earthquake research and related technical disciplines (e.g., earthquake engineering, risk management, and information technology), formal and informal education, and public outreach. Members of the AC are drawn from academia, government, and the private sector; they are elected by the Board for three-year terms and may be re-elected. The Council meets annually to review Center programs and plans and prepares a report for the Center. The AC Chair is apprised on all major actions of the Center. Council members are informed of Center activities and invited to participate in all appropriate Center functions. Council reports are made available to NSF, the USGS, and other funding agencies.

Advisory Council

Gail Atkinson, Chair
U of Western Ontario
Donna Eberhart-Phillips
U of California Davis
M. Meghan Miller
John Vidale
U of Washington
Norm Abrahamson
Kate Long
Farzad Naeim
John A Martin and Assoc
Andrew Whittaker
University at Buffalo
Roger Bilham
U of Colorado Boulder
Warner Marzocchi
Tim Sellnow
University of Kentucky

Created in the SCEC system
© 2020 Southern California Earthquake Center @
Privacy Policy and Accessibility Policy